RSS

Social Anxiety, Phone Calls, and Real Estate Investing

25 Jul

Tuesday was a good day. I made a phone call asking about a property on the street I live on that is for sale. The property is an old building, originally housing our cities first JCPenney. It’s basically been vacant since 1977. They want $19,900 for it.

Let me start out with the fact that I absolutely hate phone calls. I would rather go directly to a person and talk to them then call them. I text my friends, only my immediate family gets the pleasure of talking to me on the phone. If it wasn’t because my job required me to support users over the phone, I wouldn’t do it. You can imagine it was a special kind of hell the first year at this job, dealing with phone calls trying to answer peoples questions about issues on the spot. I’m not sure how I survived without getting terrible stomach ulcers from stress.

Anyway, I called the real estate agent the first time and got her voicemail, which was a little bit of a relief. I like hearing people’s voices before I talk to them directly over the phone. My brain tells me I can tell by the sound of their voice how friendly they are and how mean or condescending they will  be to me when I actually do talk to them. I left a voicemail about the property and waited, with an upset stomach, for a call back.

Now let me tell you about the abusive relationship that my stomach is stuck in with my SA. Whenever I deal with social anxiety, I end up feeling very queasy. Sometimes, this keeps me from going anywhere or doing anything until the anxiety inducing event has either passed me by or I suck it up and do whatever it is. I swear, I don’t need any fiber in my diet, social anxiety is enough! So, after my first phone call, I had to hit the toilet. Then I managed to miss the call back, so I then had to use the bathroom a second time before calling her back again. Needless to say, my stomach was in bad shape the rest of the evening.

Now, to be honest, I didn’t have to make this phone call. I made myself make it. Why? Because I wanted to and knew I would regret not doing it. You see, I’ve been really interested in investing money in real estate for a while now as well as starting a business. I have no desire to buy myself a house yet, I’m very happy renting, so why not put that money to good use? While I don’t actually intend on buying this specific property (it’s quite a mess from what I can tell peeping through the windows into it), I need to start somewhere in getting comfortable with doing these sorts of crazy things that I want to do. So, this afternoon I have an appointment to view the property with the real estate agent and the owner.

My parents will also be going with me.

Baby steps.

*stomach gurgle*

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 25, 2012 in Investing, Mental Health, Real Estate

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Social Anxiety, Phone Calls, and Real Estate Investing

  1. Kim

    July 26, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    Baby steps are what it’s all about, isn’t it? Just managing to put one foot in front of the other until you finally arrive. I hope everything went well with the appointment, I look forward to hearing about how it went 🙂

     
    • River Hawthorn

      July 26, 2012 at 9:19 pm

      You shall be hearing about it in tomorrow’s post! 🙂 Keep an eye on your feed!

       

Leave a Reply

 
