RSS

Good Vibes

06 Aug

My schedule was all sorts of fail last week, so I apologize for my absence!  This week I will be leaving on Wednesday to go to LeakyCon in Chicago, and I won’t be back until Sunday night. I really hope to make a post or two from the convention, but no guarantees!

I wanted to at least make some sort of attempt at a post today, so I thought I’d share a positive. Last weekend (not the one we just got through, but the one before) I went out with a coworker for dinner to chat. She is one of the very few people at my work place that I’d consider a friend, and she is very quickly transitioning from “friend from work” to “close friend”. While we were out, I spilled to her the fact that I was going to therapy, what had been going on at work, and that I really wasn’t happy with my life. She was very supportive and listened, and shared some of her own experiences with depression and stories of friends that dealt with anxiety.

This most recently past Friday, a week after we had dinner and gabbed until 12:30 in the morning (really late for both of us!), I received a card from her through the company mail system. Inside she had wrote me some very encouraging words, and I really wanted to share them here:

Card

I am very grateful to have stumbled into my current job if only because it has led me to meet such a wonderful and supportive person at a time in my life when I need friends who really believe in me and support me in making major life changes for my own well being.

In other news, I go to my first Yoga class tonight! Eek! My stomach is a mess already. I’ve never done any sort of organized work out class because of my anxiety, but Amy has told me Yoga will help a lot with my breathing and with my stress/anxiety levels, so I’m going to give it a shot!  She also recommend this particular Yoga instructor, as she is the instructor she had when she started doing Yoga! I’m only going once a week, on Monday nights, because that is what currently works with my schedule. I hope to bump that up at time goes on, though!

So, yes, convention this week, so I’m going to be a busy, anxious, exhausted mess most of the week! I can’t wait though, conventions always rock and are such a great way to get out of the norm of every day life!  Hoping to come home feeling recharged and ready to face life with a fresh and positive perspective ^_^

Hope everyone has a great Monday!

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Good Vibes

  1. Jennifer Stuart

    August 6, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    Hope you have fun at the convention!

     
  2. escapingdarkness

    August 10, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    Your co-worker sounds like a nice friend to have and understanding too. Enjoy the convention.

     
    • River Hawthorn

      August 14, 2012 at 10:16 pm

      She really is! She has been extra supportive since she found out about my issues, it has really been helping my work life flow a little easier 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
